top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeidi Lai

I found a new home.

Updated: Jun 19, 2021

Hello readers.


This is a testimony/speech I gave when I started to root in this church called, Acts. I started to officially root in Acts in 2018 when I was 22. Here goes:-


Today, I would like to share a testimony about how I found growth and belonging in acts? Just a little background, for the past 6 years before I came to acts, I was attending a church which my family goes to (if you want to know, personal text me). However, I found myself stagnant spiritually for those past 6 years and I couldn’t find a sense of belonging there. Not the church was not good, but I couldn’t find a place where I can serve God in the right attitude and I couldn’t connect well with the people there.


I’ve heard of Acts since my high school years as many of my friends attend acts at that time. One day, I got invited by a friend to attend Campus City, a service run by campus students for campus students. In the beginning, I felt awkward and out of place because it was a new environment and things were run differently from the church I came from. But I still went to campus city very often and slowly, a year has passed. Meanwhile, I was also still attending my previous church since high school years.


So it came to a point where I thought I should start praying and asking God about where He wants me to root down. As I prayed and gave this some thought, I then realized throughout the one year I was in campus city, I was able to serve and find the community which I’ve been yearning for. In acts, we believe every hand can serve God and I was given the privilege to serve as a backup singer on Actstream as well as a program coordinator.


I found myself a tight community too. When I came to Acts, people followed up on me, initiated a conversation with me and they actually genuinely care about how I was doing, so this made feel belong. I also found myself a mentor who can guide me in this spiritual walk. And so, I have the peace to root down in acts believing that this is the place which will help me grow spiritually.


By the end of this year, it will be my third year since the day I decided to fully commit and unpack in acts church. I came wanting to grow and be on fire for God and with the community, I found in acts, it has really helped me in that. I learnt a lot about myself and God. Different leaders have taught me the way I should walk in Christ, to always seek Him and His righteousness first, to not forget to also rest in Him when things get a little too overwhelming, allowing me to imitate them as they imitate Christ. I thank God for bringing me into His house which I can also call home.

 

To know more, I am currently 23 plus years old. Serving in campus ministry in Actstream and writing behind the scene (not consistnet but in progress). Of course in Homes (cell group) too. There you go, is me, Heidi Lai.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page